The people is separated into four hemispheres based on lines of latitude and longitude.

The Equator Divides the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres

The equator is an imaginary line that is equidistant from the North and South Poles. This line drops at zero degrees latitude.

The Equator is the line of zero degrees latitude about the center of Earth and is the diving line between the northern and also southern hemispheres. Image: NASA, windy domain.

The part of the earth that is phibìc of the equator is recognized as the northern Hemisphere. The component of the earth that is southern of the equator is well-known as the southerly Hemisphere.

You are watching: What continent lies completely north of the equator and east of the prime meridian?

Prime Meridian Divides the Eastern and Western Hemispheres

The Western and also Eastern Hemisphere are split by zero degrees longitude i m sorry is recognized as the prime Meridian.

The west Hemisphere occupies the geographic space west the the element meridian and also east the theantemeridian i beg your pardon lies at 180 degrees longitude.

The east Hemisphere is discovered east of the prime Meridian and also west the theantemeridian.

The prime Meridian divides the human being into the eastern and also western hemispheres. Image: NASA, publicly domain.

The only Continent That deserve to Be discovered in All 4 Hemispheres

While numerous of the world’s continents space traversed by the separation between two hemispheres, over there is just one continent in the world that lies in all four hemispheres: Africa.

This geography truth also method that Africa is the only continent to have actually land both in ~ theEquator and the element Meridian.

These 2 maps show how the continent of Africa lies in both the Northern and Southern Hemispheres and also the Western and Eastern Hemispheres.

Map the Africa and the Northern and Southern Hemispheres


How many African countries does the Equator happen through?

The Equator passed with a complete of seven nations in Africa. Beginning from the west to eastern these nations are: the island country of São Tomé and Príncipe,Gabon, Republic that Congo, theDemocratic Republic of the Congo (DRC),Uganda,Kenya,and Somalia.

See more: Why Is A Sigma Bond Stronger Than Pi Bond Stronger Than A Sigma Bond?

Map that Africa and also the Westernand EasternHemispheres


How plenty of African countries does the element Meridian pass through?

The element Meridian the cross through 5 African countries. Beginning from north to south, these nations are: Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tongo, and Ghana.



Tags Africa, continents, hemispheres, homeschool geography, homework help, political location get in your email to receive the location Realm newsletter: