When you space operating a vehicle on the roads of California, the is critical that your be in great operating condition. We have actually all viewed vehicles ~ above the roadway that more than likely should not be there as result of various security violations. Perhaps the exhaust is dangling precariously close to the roadway. Perhaps a human is driving with absolutely fully tires. Many civilization may not think about the prestige of winter in the vehicle, but you deserve to be sure California legislation covers this topic. Mirrors administer safety, and also if you are driving your auto anywhere in California, you require to know if you are operating legally.
You are watching: Is it illegal to drive without a side mirror
Number and also Location the Rearview Mirrors
Under the California auto Code, every auto registered in the state (except for motorcycles) is required to have actually at the very least two rearview mirrors. One of these mirrors should be ~ above the vehicle’s left-hand side (driver’s side). The other mirror have the right to be located everywhere so long as the driver has actually a clear see of the highway at the very least 200 feet behind their automobile in both mirrors.
Vehicles that are registered out-of-state and motorcycles must have at least one rearview mirror that allows the driver to check out 200 feet behind lock on the roadway.
What around Vehicles with restricted Views?
If a car does not have a rear windshield or if a human being is towing something behind their vehicle, then they space still forced to have actually two rearview mirrors. In this case, the winter on the left-hand side of the automobile must be there, and there have to be a mirror on the right-hand side of the auto as well.
This supplication will likewise apply if a person has actually a auto loaded in a way that block their view to the rear. However, passengers within the automobile do not count as an obstruction even if they perform impede the driver’s view.
Can You have actually Objects on your Rearview Mirror?
California regulation stipulates the it is unlawful to run a automobile with any kind of object inserted or set up on the auto that reduces their view through the windshield or next mirrors. Chauffeurs are permitted to have objects dangling native rearview mirrors, so long as the object does not impede the driver’s clear check out of the roadway.
What room the Penalties for a winter Violation in California?
Violating rearview mirror provisions under California legislation is an infraction the is punishable by a fine. The base fine associated with a rearview winter violation is $25, but every jurisdiction is allowed to include their own penalty assessments on optimal of this fine. Many mirror hurt are most likely to be $200 or more.
Will girlfriend be in ~ Fault for an Accident if you do not Have appropriate Mirrors?
California operates under a compare negligence law that recognizes an ext than one party can be at fault for an accident. For example, if a driver without the compelled mirrors on their auto makes a legal lane readjust after checking the various other lane and also their blind spots, but ends up striking a vehicle that was traveling in ~ an excessive rate of rate who should never have actually been alongside them, both parties can still be in ~ fault for the incident.
See more: Is The West Coast Of Africa A Plate Boundary, African Tectonic Plate: Facts & Movement
Typically, a driver operating at a recklessly high speed would be at fault for an incident, but it could be said that the driver without suitable mirrors would certainly have had actually a better chance at seeing the draw close speeding vehicle had they been adhering to the winter requirements. In situations like this, a jury might decide to mitigate the full damages paid the end to victim in the case based on their percent of fault. Take into consideration speaking v a qualified auto accident attorney in Sacramento following a auto collision to check out your legal options.