The U.S. State that Rhode Island is divided into 5 Counties. Explore the Rhode Island ar Map, every Counties list in addition to their County seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

You are watching: How many counties in rhode island

About Rhode Island county Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and also neighbouring states.

About Counties that Rhode Island

U.S State of Rhode Island is located in brand-new England component of the joined States. ~ the civil battle the state was no willing to join the Union. When the invoice of rights was included in the constitution Rhode Island joined in the Union as thirteenth state in the year 1790. Rhode Island is the the smallest state through area in the joined States and also seventh least populous state. The state is called after the island. The state is bordered by Connecticut come the west, Massachusetts to the north and Atlantic ocean to the south. The funding city of Rhode Island is Providence and also it is the most populous city in Rhode Island. The climatic condition of the state is continental climate which consists of with warm summers and also cold winters. U.S state of Rhode Island is one the states that has fewer counties in the state.

Counties the Rhode Island 5 in number. They space Bristol County, Kent County, Newport County, Providence County and also Washington County. Off all the Counties the Rhode Island the wealthiest county is Newport with $36,994 every capita income. Bristol is the second highest earning county. Even though Rhode Island is divided into counties but counties carry out to have actually county government. The obligation of local federal government is provided to municipalities due to the fact that county federal government was denomination in the year 1842. There are 39 municipalities in the state that Rhode Island. Counties of Rhode Island further separated into municipalities. There room 39 cities and towns in the state of Rhode Islands. Cities and towns of the state are separated again right into villages. There are some strength vested top top cities and towns because that the management purpose and also administrative bodies of city and town room exercise and administer a lot of services come the citizen of the state.

See more: How Many Valence Electrons Does C Have ? 【】How Many Valence Electrons Does Carbon Have

The U.S. State of Rhode Island has actually 5 Counties. This is list of Rhode Island Counties and County seat in alphabetical order along with check your population, areas and also the date of formation.

List of Counties in Rhode Island with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Bristol CountyBristol49,87524 sq mi1747
2Kent CountyEast Greenwich166,158168 sq mi1750
3Newport CountyNewport82,888102 sq mi1703
4Providence CountyProvidence626,667409 sq mi1703
5Washington CountySouth Kingstown*126,979329 sq mi1729